Why I Won’t Be Vacationing in California

My partner and I had been planning on taking a trip to San Francisco this spring. We were thinking of it as a honeymoon, even though we can’t get married. We’ve been together for 9 years and have never taken a vacation without the kids.

But after watching the arguments to overturn Prop 8, I get the feeling that they aren’t going to do it. So why should I go to a state and spend a bunch of money when they obviously don’t value their own LGBT citizens? Gosh, if I want to see bigots all I have to do is stick my head out the door. I don’t need to travel to California to do it.

In fact, I no longer recognize the state of California. It is New Oklahoma as far as I’m concerned. I’m going to save that money and in four years, I will have been cancer-free for five years. Then maybe I can immigrate Canada.

And to all you LGBTs out there in New Oklahoma, I suggest you boycott that state and leave. Hell, you can come to Oklahomo where housing is cheap. And we’ll turn the red state pink.

Leave a Reply

