My Meaningless Vote

For sometime now, I have been wondering if I should bother to cast my meaningless vote this November. I have voted in every presidential election since I turned 18, but now, as I grow increasingly old and bitter, I wonder why I bother. This funny video from the Onion hasn’t helped.

Diebold Accidentally Leaks Results Of 2008 Election Early

I don’t live in a swing state. I live in a red state, so actually, I do already know how my state is going to vote. My vote is meaningless. The only thing that might get me to the polls would be the hope of getting rid of Jim Inhofe, the stupidest man in the senate. Really, he embarrasses me.

Now, if I lived in Ohio, things might be different. Unfortunately, they are still using a lot of those Diebold systems there, now called Premier. I don’t think a name change is going to make them any more secure. For those of you that will have to e-vote, here’s an interesting article from Scientific American. Hey, I’ll bet your vote is meaningless, too.

We all know that statistics and polls are a bunch of crap, but here is a site that tracks polls by state for the upcoming elections. It might be interesting to look at now, and then again after it’s all over, and the nation’s overlords have pretended to count our meaningless votes.

Leave a Reply

